10 Named to IWLS All-Academic Team

10 Named to IWLS All-Academic Team

GEORGETOWN, Texas – Following the most successful season in program history, the Franciscan women's lacrosse team landed 10 players on the Independent Women's Lacrosse Schools (IWLS) All-Academic Team, as announced Wednesday morning.

Recipients of this award must carry a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.30 for the 20161-7 academic year.

Included on the All-Academic Team this year were Brittany Bain, Catherine Cahill, Bridget Clune, Julia Hall, Elizabeth Jordan, Elaine Kelly, Mary Krolicki, Carly McDonald, Christine Rice, and Sarah Schriner

The Lady Barons finished the season 9-7 with a 2-1 record in the AMCC. Following the regular season, Franciscan won the inaugural AMCC showcase with a dramatic 17-16 win over Hilbert on May 7.

Franciscan posted school records for most points (301), goals (203), assists (98), free-position goals (20), draw controls (226), ground balls (389), caused turnovers (213) and wins (9) in a season in 2017.

Nine institutions comprise the IWLS: Colorado College, Dean College, D'Youville College, Franciscan University, Northland College, University of Northwestern‐St. Paul, Southwestern University, State University of New York – Canton, and the University of Dallas.